Toefl- Should school buy computers or books? Both are indispensible in our lives

Topic: Your school has enough money to purchase either computers for students or books for the library. Which should your school choose to buy computers or books? Use specific reasons and examples to support your recommendation.

Both Books and computers are indispensible in our lives, especially during the learning stage. However, if a school now needs to purchase something to enhance the quality of education, I will prefer to buy books rather than computers for a couples of reasons.

First, books are much less expensive than the high-technology commodities, such as computers. After all, a school could not have money as much as a big company, so the financial problem could be a critical factor. For example, a computer may cost 500 US dollars but a book may need only 10 US dollars. Besides, books are more easily to maintain in a good state; however, a computer may tend to be attacked by computer viruses. Therefore buying books could help a school to save more money.

In addition to the economic factor, the authorization may also be a big issue. With rapid development of Internet, one can easily have access to much information they want. But here comes a problem. Is the information on the Internet reliable? I think most of them are only published on some blogs or bulletin board systems, hence they can not be considered as correct answers to your problems. So it will be more practical to buy some authorized books.

Finally, we should talk about the library. Every school must have one on campus. So, the importance of library cannot be overemphasized anymore. Also, many people use books there and study for a long time. The more books the library has, the more sources they could tap. If they don't have enough books, I think students may not be willing to go there anymore.

In conclusion, if a school would buy books instead of computers, they would save more money and offer a better quality for learning. I think it is a win-win situation to both schools and students.