Scientists predict in the near future, cars will be driven by computers, not people. Why? Effects?

self driving cars controversy

It is forecasted that cars will soon need no human drivers. This phenomenon results from some reasons, and I personally think that it has detrimental benefits.

To begin with, there are two primary justifications for this trend. The first one lies in the fact that human beings tend to pursue convenience. With the emergence of driverless automobiles, there is no need for people to drive the vehicle themselves. Therefore, the proliferation of autonomous cars is a natural progression. Another justification is the fast-paced technological innovations. This century has witnessed the significant development of technology and science in all walks of life. In transportation, some big corporations and companies have gained successful achievements in testing self-driving vehicles namely Tesla, BWW; as a result, driverless vehicles will soon be ubiquitous in the world.

However, this trend can exert obviously positive influence on human lives. Most accidents are indeed due to reckless behaviours of human beings; hence, cars with the autopilot feature will assist in lowering or removing the risks in driving, which enhances road safety. Safety aside, the development of self-driving car industry is likely to boost the economic prospect since many expenses in human-driving transportation, such as drivers' salary, can be cut down on, leading to the saving of budget on commuting and transportation which can be allocated to other important fields.

In conclusion, the popularity of autonomous cars inevitably occurs soon due to human's preference for convenience and technological breakthroughs. However, safety in transportation and economic prosperity are the advantages this trend brings to.