Essay about separate education for students with different academic levels

Question: Some people think that schools should select students according to their academic abilities, while others believe that it is better to have students with different abilities studying together.

Discuss both views and state your own opinion.

There arises a conflict of opinion towards the issue of whether students should be classified into different schools according to their academic performance or schools are better off being a melting pot of students with divergent academic levels. The essay will expatiate on both opinions and present my view.

On the one hand, that selecting students on the basis of their academic levels can substantially benefit students and teachers is strongly affirmed. Regarding the beneficial impacts on students, they are undoubtedly offered an ideal environment for their self-development, mental health improvement and specialization enhancement.

To be more specific, while those with excellent academic abilities can be motivated and inspired to constantly make progress in their study when surrounded with other brilliant scholars, students with poor academic performance do not have to cope with the peer pressure from so-called academic geniuses and correspondingly dedicate their spare time to developing their social skills, personal strengths and talents. In the meantime, teachers can also relish advantages of separate education by reducing the burden of taking care of students with great disparity in academic levels or assisting average students in catching up with their outstanding peers.

On the other hand, it is also beneficial to students when being blended together in the same class regardless of their scholastic achievements and potentials. Firstly, they can have the opportunity to become more well-rounded through exchanging their knowledge and understanding with one another. By means of illustration, those who are well-versed in a particular subject can impart knowledge to their classmates and aid teachers in tutoring them, hence, members of this typical inclusive class are able to expand their knowledge of all fields and subjects. Secondly, young learners in the same class can enjoy the prospects of exploring their interests in other areas, acquiring a diversity of skills and learning about various opinions and thoughts.

In conclusion, although each format has its own distinctive merits, I assume that schools should be composed of students with a wide range of abilities as this environment could offer students a chance to explore their passion and interests, and become more well-rounded.