Skeletal muscle physiology

Hello,

Could you please read my essay and give me some feedback?

The prompt is:

This week we will be studying skeletal muscle physiology. We're going to take the lab a step further such that we're going to discuss muscle mass. This discussion is two-fold:

1. Obtain information on the procedures used to build muscle mass and how those procedures accomplish that goal.

2. Also discuss atrophy as a result of wearing a cast on a broken limb, and discuss what can be done about it.

Thank you in advance

Frederic

---The sources have not been integrated yet.---

An individual's physical performance depends on the relative proportion of fast glycolytic and slow oxidative fibres in his or her muscular system. On the one hand, the preponderance of fast glycolytic fibres in the muscular system facilitates intense physical activities over a short span of time. On the other hand, the predominance of slow oxidative fibres in the muscular system makes possible physical activities demanding high levels of stamina over long periods. Albeit conventional wisdom has it that people exercising elaborate the aggregate quantity of fast glycolytic and slow oxidative fibres in their skeletal muscles, the quality of these fibres is the only thing that evolves, and even only moderately. Consequently, professional or amateur sportspersons may desire to better their performance through exercise especially adapted to alter the nature of a certain type of fibres in order to ameliorate their performance.

First and foremost, specific exercises emphasizing one's resistance on the long run, such running or swimming over long distances and an elongated period of time, permit individuals to initiate the regular conversion of some of their slow oxidative fibres into fast oxidative-glycolytic fibres. There is a hypertrophy of the muscles because the diameter of these new fast oxidative-glycolytic fibres steadily increases, along with the amount of mitochondria and blood supply. Such exercises aimed at boosting individuals' strength are labelled as "aerobic" because they require an important consumption of air developing the cardiovascular system that, subsequently, provides the muscles with more oxygen and nutrients.

On the contrary, particular exercises stressing one's ability to produce a gigantic amount of strength during a few seconds or minutes are known as "anaerobic" because they value explosive efforts, which demand the display of considerable strength in a split second. Such exercises enlarge the synthesis of thick and thin filaments in sportsmen's muscles, leading to their hypertrophy.

Unfortunately, sometimes people fracture one their limbs and emergency physicians plaster this limb to immobilize it to facilitate and accelerate the healing. However, the muscular system is also affected since the muscles of the limb cannot be employed with a cast and, thus, they atrophy. This degeneration is brought about by the diminution of the size of muscle fibres because of the progressive loss of myofibrils. That phenomenon happens owing to the fact that muscular inactivity provokes a reduction of the number of nerve impulses to the muscles. As soon as the cast is removed, the withering of muscle mass can be counter thanks to the aerobic and anaerobic exercises aforementioned.