To solve traffic problems, governments should tax private car owners and invest in public transport

a solution for the huge number of cars on roads

It is common belief that the governments should put a tax on individual car owners and invest the amount of money to develop the quality of public transportation. However, it is true that this solution is a controversial opinion due to its benefits and drawbacks.

On the one hand, the heavy taxes would make people probably use public transport instead, such as buses,... Additionally they would pay attention to the pollution level caused by their car exhaust fumes, which have a devastating impact on our climate. With this solution, the government could also limit the time and routes that cars are allowed to take to decrease traffic jams in rush hours. Thus, the money from car owners who violate the tax could be used to improve and develop the infrastructure. It will definitely decrease traffic congestion and pollution and high taxes would generate enough money to make essential changes.

However, that solution is not completely beneficial, there are some negative aspects that should be taken into consideration. As a matter of fact, taxes are already high these days so that it would be a heavy burden on car owners. In addition, with a fixed amount of money, it seems to be too high to those people who could not afford to pay, while the rich ones certainly could . As a results, inhabitants' lives would become harder, and several people would not pay the taxes. This solution could be a double-edged sword and might not be used as a long-term plan; it perhaps reduces residents' quality of life.

To sum up, although this aforementioned solution is worth considering to improve the current situation, there still exist some noteworthy disadvantages.