Strict actions should be imposed on the offenders who violates traffic norms

IELTS : task2 : General writing | check for mistakes and provide score

Question : Some people argue that strict punishment for driving offenses is the only effective way toward improving safety on the road. Do you agree or disagree?

Road safety improving

Nowadays, increasing number of Traffic accidents is a growing concern in developing and developed nations. While some opine that strict actions should be imposed on the offenders who violates traffic norms is the most efficient way to reduce road accidents. I agree that strict rules should be implemented for the road safety

The first and foremost benefit for imposing harsh punishments on violating traffic laws is that it will Inculcate discipline and responsible among citizens. In addition, People will always think twice before breaking the traffic laws, otherwise they have to deal with hefty fines and imprisonment. To illustrate, in Singapore, traffic accidents were reduced exponentially after their government taken action against traffic law breakers.

Secondly, safe driving will help to reduce financial overheads on the state. This is because less number of accidents will result in reduction in damages to public properties, thus authority will have to pay less for infrastructure fixation. Moreover, Insurance companies will have to settle fewer number of claims related to accidents, so in longer run, their premium will reduce considerably which in turn will benefit the individuals.

However, some people may argue that instead of implementing strict punishment, state should increase awareness about traffic rules among vehicle drivers by providing informative sessions and advertisements which will have same impact as with harsh traffic guidelines. What is more, heavy penalty on drivers may become burden on individuals. Therefore, traffic educations should be considered as an important aspect to minimize fatalities.

In conclusion, although motivating people about following road safety rules can reduce accident risk, harsh punishment will force the people to follow traffic regulations in more effective way