Some students want to learn additional subjects. Others think should focus on getting a degree.

Subject:

Some university students want to learn about other subjects in addition to their main subjects.

Others believe it is more important to give all their time and attention to studying for a qualification.

It is often argued that students should assimilate additional subjects to become all-rounders while others disagree and think that spending all their energy obtaining a diploma is much more vital. Although focusing on formal qualifications has its own benefits, I believe that students should gain knowledge from both tertiary education and other sources.

On one hand, it is essential to devote all effort to achieving a good degree as academic performance is the main criterion of success for university students. If students do not concentrate utterly on their curriculum, they will have the tendency to fall behind in their studies and struggle to catch up. For instance, a friend of mine used to be a top student, yet she had played truant several times for her critical reasoning course. As a result, she was one of the students whose marks ranked at the bottom of the class and she took approximately six months to back to her old self again.

On the other hand, having a well-rounded education can open the door to better career prospects. Learning additional subjects can help students cultivate their soft skills which are the important requirements set by big corporations. Moreover, in surveys conducted by prestige organizations every year, an ideal employee is one who has good theoretical knowledge as well as related skills. An outstanding example of this would be Google will not hire employees who do not have information technology knowledge at an advanced level and problem-solving skills that can reach its benchmark.

In conclusion, although paying attention to the curriculum at the university is necessary, students need to train themselves through additional subjects. They should anticipate their soft skills for a much better career path.