Summary - David Pogue: 10 top time-saving tech tips

That is true in everything have risky, except technology. For some reason, there's no standard syllabus or basic course. Nobody ever tell you how it works. There is ten things to share that everybody knew, but sometimes they don't know.

First of all, on the web, if want to scroll down, just hit the space bar. it's scrolls down one page and Hold down the Shift key to scroll back up again. Still on the web, to fill in one of these forms like your name, hit the Tab key to jump from box to box to box. Another on the web, when the text is too small, hold down the Control key and hit plus, plus to make larger with each tap.

Change to the smartphone, don't switch layouts to the punctuation layout to hit the period and then a space, then try to capitalize the next letter, Just hit the space bar twice. if you want to redial somebody that you've dialed before, you can hit call again to actually dial it. No need to go to the recent calls list if you're trying to call somebody just hit the call button again. for all cellphones, you can interrupt the freak voicemail messege by pressing the carrier's interrupt key, in verizon just tab "*", AT&T and T-mobile hit "#".

When you want to highlight a word, double click the word. Shutter lag is the time between your pressing the shutter button and the moment the camera actually snaps. if you prefocus with a half-press, leave your finger down there will be no shutter lag. And finally, it often happens that you're giving a talk, and for some reason, the audience is looking at the slide instead of at you!. this works in Keynote, PowerPoint, it works in every program. Hit the letter B key, B for blackout, to black out the slide, make everybody look at you, and then hit B again, and if you're really on a roll, you can hit the W key for "whiteout," and you white out the slide, and then you can hit W again to unblank it.