TED Summary : We Train Soldiers for War. Let's Train Them to Come Home, too.

In this TED video, the speaker name is Hector A. Garcia. He is a psychologist who has spent his career for delivering evidence-based psychotherapies to veterans with posttraumatic stress disorder (PTSD). He works at the Valley Coastal Bend Veterans Health Care System and a clinical assistant professor in the Department of Psychiatry at UT Health San Antonio. During his speech, he shares about his experiences to take care of PTSD, identify the impact of this disease and also how to treat veterans who get this problem. As a scientist, he makes an exploration about the evolutionary of psychology and biology have influenced human toward PTSD. One of method to heal this problem is that doing the same training principles that the military uses in preparing its trainees for war. It is because in United States, the military have trained their army for war, not for coming to their home. Thus, when the army is back from the conflict areas to their hometown, their way of mentality think that they live in a dangerous environment. Another way of ending human suffering caused by war is to never go to war, but it is very hard to happen.