Should we support the consumption and production of GM food?

Genetically-modified food s(GM foods) have been harshly criticised by many food activists. On the other hand, many advocates have supported the production and consumption of GM foods.

Which view do you agree with?

The Genetically-modified food (GM food) is one of the highly commended productions in the world. That is, until people are dying and suffering from lethal effects brought by the food. Consuming GM food puts everyone's lives at dangers, as it may bring harmful damages to one's health. GM food is associated with many plausible health risks and its production is not substantially increasing the supply of food. Though advocates state that GM food can alleviate some environmental problems, but that should not outweigh its cons. There is absolutely no reason to continue the production of GM food and promote its consumption.

First of all, the health risks associated with GM food is alarming. It was proven by several animal studies that infertility, immune dysregulation, accelerated aging, dysregulation of genes associated with cholesterol synthesis and protein formation, and changes in the liver, kidney, spleen and gastrointestinal system are some health risks related to the consumption of GM food. It was also shown that there is linkage between GM food and harmful health consequences. This puts consumers' lives at risk whenever one consumes GM food. Furthermore, although GM food is classified as safe for consumption, but that was solely due to the idea of "partial equivalence", which states that if one is found to be substantially equivalent in composition and nutritional characteristics to an existing food, it is deemed to be safe. This suggests that GM food may not absolutely be safe for consumption. Thus, the exposure to health risks and safety concerns make GM food a skeptical produce.

Secondly, it was identified that the production of GM food does not increase the food supply. Proponents of GM food have been advocating this advantage brought by GM food. However, there seems to be a turning point to this. According to a report by the Union of Concerned Scientists, the several thousand field trials over the last 20 years for genes aimed at increasing operational or intrinsic yield (of crops), none of those have resulted in increased yield in commercialized major food, with the exception of GM corn; however it was stated that the increase is mainly due to "traditional breeding improvements". For this reason, there seems to be no ground to support the production of GM food.

On the other hand, GM food is believed to be able to alleviate problems such as water shortages, salination of existing water supplies and insect damages. For example, the larva-resistant corn can remove the application of chemical pesticides. This prevents the run-off of agricultural wastes from enormous application of pesticides and fertilizers, which may cause environmental damages. Hence, GM food helps to enlighten these issues.

Clearly, no one should consume GM food under any circumstances and put their lives at risk. Though GM food is environmentally friendly, that should not downplay the novel health risks that it poses. GM food is absolutely not the only solution to these problems. As long as GM food is consumed, humans are exposed to the risk of getting undesired health effects, and that is absolutely not acceptable nor condemnable. As such, GM food should be banned to protect consumers and this would also prevent naive individuals who are unaware of the dangers associated with GM food and consume unknowingly.