Do you support that the nuclear technology should be used for constructive purposes?

IELTS Writing Task 2..

You should spend 40 minutes on this task.

Use your own knowledge and experience and support your argument with examples and relevant evidence. Give reasons for your viewpoint.

Nuclear Energy has been globally spoken for the past few years. Some people argue that the nuclear technology could be used for the sake of development. It can be true but I totally disagree of this idea and in this essay I will support my opinion with examples.

Primarily, nuclear accident is one of the main concern regarding the use of nuclear technology. Despite the high level of sophistication of safety system that the technology have, human and environmental aspects always get the impact when unexpected event occured. For example, chernobyl nuclear accident which was claim as the worse nuclear accident ever cause a mass sacriface of humankind and environment. Another reason is that there is some difficulties in the management of nuclear waste which takes many years to eliminate its radioactive and risk. It will also have a bad impact for the surrounding if the waste poorly manage.

In contrary, people believe that nuclear could be beneficial for advancing several medical technology. For instance, the invention of radiopharmaceutical and radiation therapy technique for the treatment of malignant tumors.

In conclusion, although there is a chance to expant nuclear technology, I believe that it is too dangerous to implement it without putting human and enviroment in line. Personally, I think that another alternative technology which is much safer should be discovered and implemented.