Teachers should not encourage the children to think in the same way

Do you agree or disagree that teachers should make their social or political views known to students in the classroom

Almost all constitutions of the modern developed states recognize that religious and political spheres exist separately from the schools and the higher educational establishments. However nobody believes in applicability of the full independence of education, because it is well-known that the teachers, especially the rural ones tend to disclose their opinions on politics or society to their pupils. To my mind, such a situation is unacceptable and should be regarded as trespass.

The first argument in support of my position is that talking about their political or social views the teachers encourage the children to think in the same way. In fact it is generally agreed that the young people particularly the children at the age of eight or ten are not intelligent enough to resist the ideas of some authoritative person (like a teacher, a parent or the elder sibling). That is why convincing a boy or a girl that political position of the Democrats on the issue of immigration is correct is not a deal of great difficulty.

The second argument to prove my point of view is that knowledge of the teacher's position usually restricts the students' freedom. In such cases the students suppose that the teacher might dislike the political party or social activist they support. Taking into account such differences a teacher can form negative attitude to the student. For example, in the undemocratic countries the students are afraid of sharing their minds with their progovernment teachers. Such students tend to consider that a teacher might estimate their work unjustly.

To sum up, teachers should not share their political and social opinions with their students. That is because of the stereotype according to which teachers dislike the students with the opposite views and inability of children to counter the prevailing viewpoint. So it seems the only way to solve a problem is to prohibit the teachers to spread their political ideas among the students.