IELTS Task 2 - technology imporoves communication and transport

People can live and work anywhere they want to choose, because of improved communication technology and transport. Do the advantages of this development outweigh disadvantages? (Technology)

In this day and age, technology is rapidly dominating in the realm of communication and transport. Some people believe there are numerous benefits of living and working anywhere they want to domicile but still keep in touch with their intimate ones. From my perspective, it can be clear that the advantages of technology are outstripping its drawbacks in terms of flexibility, and convenience.

The development of technology can be considered a threat in terms of the lack to face-to-face interaction and reducing human connection. Since the revolution of technological gadgets has taken place, people have been using smartphones, tablets, or laptops as tools to communicate with the world. Therefore, it has been demonstrated that human interaction is reduced in general, with the feeling of isolation of the young generation in particular. Consequently, the harm of isolation strikes various physical and mental illnesses. For instance, using technology to communicate leads to a sedentary lifestyle that may cause cardiovascular diseases or related symptoms like depression that are intrinsically destroying people day by day.

Despite the technological drawbacks, the benefits of using technology are transparent with regard to flexibility and convenience. For example, remote work enables employers to allot and work effectively from home despite the long distance that does not waste the fee of transport. Moreover, students can learn open courses and do research anywhere they want instead of commuting to another country to learn. Consequently, the quality of work and education are increasingly favoring these days compared to the past. Besides, for people who are living abroad, the only way to keep in touch and easily contact their family and relatives even though the extended distance is to utilize a smartphone to make calls or send messages to their loved ones. Therefore, it can be concluded that the positive aspects of using technology to improve communication and transport.

In conclusion, it can be accepted that the drawbacks of technology have taken place in some aspects such as lack of interaction but the benefits outweigh its negative sides in terms of flexibility and convenience. As the benefits of technology have been pronounced, making positive developments for humans if they use it properly.