Ielts 8 test 4 task2: heavier weight and less fitness

unhealthy lifestyle problems

TASK

In some countries the average weight of people is increasing and their levels of health and fitness are decreasing.What do you think are the causes of these problems and what measures could be taken to solve them?

ANSWER

Nowadays, there is a trend that people are getting heavier than ever before with decreasing health and fitness in some countries. This is not a good sign for our next generation and the society, I think unhealthy lifestyle might be responsible for these problems.

While the pace of life is constantly speeding up, people get accustomed to east fast food or order a take-out from restaurants to keep up with their work and study. And this might be the main reason for average weight increasing, because those junk food are rich in fats and high calories which are not only gain weight but also do harm to individual's health. Apart from that, working overtime and lack of physic exercises make the problem worse. For example, a person who is always busy with work will compress his leisure time of sleep or taking other activities, and these sedentary people are easily get some disease like cervical spondylosis or stoke compared with people who exercise regularly.

To solve these problems, people need to change their unhealthy lifestyles. Firstly, they should get rid of the habit of eating fast food and start to add more fruits and vegetables in their daily diets. This would help them control the amount of salt and fats they use as well as keep a balanced diet. Then for those hard working groups, try to guarantee the sufficient sleep to recharge battery and do more sports activities if possible, thereby they will gradually improve their fitness and build up a strong body to support their jobs in return.

In conclusion, a good lifestyle is crucial to our health. To keep a good figure and prevent form some diseases, we need to cut our every bad habit and eat a balanced and varied diet as well as do more exercises in daily life.