IELTS Topic: Air travel should be restricted or not?

Some people believe that air travel should restricted because it cause serious pollution and uses up the world's fuel resources. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

With the popularity of the air travel in recent decades, some environmentalists start to believe that air traffic should be limited as its rise cause a series of environmental problems. In fact, this is not the case in many real life experience.

Admittedly, having a heavy air traffic load exerts some negative influences. One is that it produces a vast amount of excessive exhaust emissions which cause severe air pollution. For example, in those underdeveloped and developing regions, due to the backwardness of their aviation technologies and skills, the aircrafts which used for commercial and non-profit purpose are often incapable of conforming the international minimum emission standard. Secondly, massive air traffic deteriorates the fuel shortage globally. Research have proved that the energy of an aeroplane consumed is far more than a vehicle, in regard of travelling the same distance and carrying the same amount of passengers.

However, retaining the air travel for the general public is a necessity. From the commercial perspective, it facilitates the international tourism industry among different nations. It is undeniable that many countries make a considerable revenue from receiving a massive amount of foreign travellers each year. Under this circumstance, not only the tourism field has developed but also promoting many other related businesses such as hotels and restaurants. Moreover, from the individual aspect, air transportation is essential for parents and families who plan to visit their children and relatives overseas, possibly because there is no access to train and time consuming for ferry. Thus, restricting the air flights brings the inconvenience and delay for those journeys.

In conclusion, even though air traffic bring some negative influences, it is convincing that its benefits such as stimulate the tourism interactions and the family reunions were overtakes its demerits.