Traffic accidents - the best way to improve road safety is to increase the minimum legal age

driving age regulation and driving offences

It is sometimes argued that the most effective method to improve road safety is raising the minimum driving age. While I agree that this measure is good, I believe that there are still other solutions that are more useful.

On the one hand, I agree that a great number of traffic accidents are caused by careless driving and the young are not mature enough to take responsibility for the serious consequences of their actions. Therefore, increasing the minimum legal driving age prevents the young drivers from being wrong doers and committing driving offences.

Nevertheless, I believe that this method is only helpful in some parts because many adolescents still drive without a driving license and they have no sense of traffic awareness. A better solution is to impose more severe punishments on those who taking driving carelessly. For instance, if they make very critical offences, they have to be punishes a longer prison sentence. Running a red light, driving without a helmet or a legal driving license could lead to a heavier pecuniary penalty. However, in the long run, the government should ensure road traffic safety to citizens and popularize and educate people's consciousness about traffic rules.

In conclusion, while I accept that this approach has some effects in the short term, I believe that introducing stricter regulations for driving offences is a longer-term and much better measure to reduce traffic accidents.