Traveling to learn cultures? We can learn from books, films, and internet.

IELTS Writing Task 2 - traveling topic

Topic: It is not necessary to travel to other places to learn about other cultures. We can learn from books, films, and internet. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that traveling to other sites of other countries to know about their cultures and customs is not essential since they believe that we all now can learn from other materials. I disagree with this view because I think that we should make the images, or the words that we learn from those materials to be practical.

On the one hand, I accept that nowadays we can literally know everything by just looking it up on the internet. In this way, we can probably absorb the information that we want to get, for example, a lot of people know about American football, which is one of the most popular sports in the US, by just searching it up online. Besides of that, to learn about other cultures, we can also learn in a variety of ways, from watching films to reading books . Because of recent advances in technology are making a great contribution to the search for learning about the language, the culture and the society of that country, I can understand why some people feel that we do not need to explore that country by travelling.

At the same time, I believe that by travelling to other places, we would have a so much more exciting and interesting experience that we could never have via books or films. We can enjoy the works of infrastructure, we can see the aesthetic qualities of the views by our naked-eyes that without travelling to those sites, we could just see it in a book and flipping the pages over. In my opinion, to be a connoisseur of a country that we want to get to know about, we need to have a realistic experience so we can make and keep the portrayal of that country by ourselves, not through others'thinking or reviews written.

In conclusion, going to places to learn about other cultures seems unnecessary but I believe that it could bring lots of practical experience which books, films or other materials cannot fully provide to us.