All university students should take at least one class that teaches the other culture

TOEFL writing - Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? All university students should be required to take at least one class that teaches the culture of a country other than their own. Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

Many university students not are required to take lecture that covers the culture of a country other than their own. But, in the age of globalization, it is necessary for people to know the culture of various other countries. So, in my opinion, all university students should be required to take at least one class that teaches the culture of a country other than their own. There are a couple of reasons why I feel this way. First, learning other cultures can contribute to international cooperation. Second, it can understand our own cultures better that know manifold cultures.

First of all, it makes a contribution to global cooperation that takes other culture classes. This is because, that class can help avoid and settle disputes between different cultures. For example, there is study that exposure to other cultures increases tolerance and is essential to world peace. Actually, the people who study different race cultures have a more tendency to understand racial problem.

Second, it can comprehend our own cultures well that take other country cultures. This is due to the fact that information about various cultures can compare own culture and other culture, and think critically about own culture. For instance, taking Japanese history class when I was freshman helped me understand Korean culture more fully. I can make a comparison between Japanese culture and Korean that and easily embrace advantage of many country cultures. Also, I am able to criticize our own culture as well as other that without a prejudice.

To sum up, helping to international cooperation and figuring out our own culture better are important reasons of my argument. In this regard, there is no legitimate reason to doubt that all college students must be required to take at least one class that learns the culture of a country other than their own.