All university students should do some voluntary work to help the local community

It is argued that college students should support local communities through voluntary activities. From my perspective, while volunteering gives various benefits, I believe that this suggestion has its potential drawbacks.

On the one hand, helping other people and contributing to the community have the merits of a student's mental health and career path. Firstly, a lot of assignments, continuous exams in universities sometimes make students become stressed. Volunteering can help them to fight against the negative effects of the school. By helping others, dopamine, which reduces stress and increases positive and relaxed feelings, is released. Furthermore, by volunteering, students have the opportunity to gain many valuable skills such as problem - solving and teamwork which can secure their dream jobs after college.

On the other hand, being a volunteer might not be feasible for all university pupils. The first reason involves students with disabilities. These people have difficulties in finding a volunteering job which often demands a good physical condition. Moreover, they might suffer from negative attitudes by others and tend to feel lonely. The second reason is that the idea can create pressure on introverted people who tend to live their lives behind closed doors. Volunteers need to be able to work well with others, whereas introverts are not interested in networking events and meeting new people.

In conclusion, while there are many advantages for students to participate in voluntary projects to help local communities, it is unrealistic to expect all college students to be a part of voluntary organizations.