IELTS TASK 2: USING INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY TO WORK SAVES ENERGY AND TIME

Information technology enables many people to do their work outside their workplace (e.g. at home, when travelling, etc). Do the benefits of this mobility outweigh the disadvantages?

The development of information technology becomes trending topic these days. As seen, this notion brings people into a better life especially workers since they can do their task at their own home. Some people argue that it is really helpful for people who live far away from their workplace due to the time they can save, while others believe it would be not effective. I personally argue that such an idea has merit and demerit.

Needless to say, this issue seems to be able to make a possibility for people to use their time effectively by doing their duty at home since they can submit their task by using the internet. A 2012 recent Harvard study reveals that 95%of companies in England had used the internet connection to find out information for business purpose so employees can complete their job at home. This resulted in workers saving much valuable time and energy as they did not have to go to office.

Apart from previous discussion, staying at home for extended period of time leads workers to have less conversation with their colleague directly. This leads them to lack of communication since they communicate rarely. This was illustrated in New York Times poll that 50%of employees who did their duty at home regularly were more likely to make mistakes. As a result, most of them had a tendency to have misunderstanding with co-workers. However, it is not a big deal as the advanced of technology these days provides long distance communication which is extremely useful for workers to keep in touch with their boss or co-workers to prevent such misconception.

The aforementioned evidence shows that information technology provided to workers and a plenty energy saved plus less time spending at work far outweigh the supposed disadvantages of misunderstanding with the others. Where possible, some serious consequences should be taken into consideration.