Waste recycling and law - Argumentative essay

recycling laws to be more strict?

Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement.

To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

Recycling of waste is one of the major act for preserving environment. However, it is also a less emphasized issue which is often argued to be implicated by legal provisions. I partially agree. This essay will discuss how legal instruments can be helpful in encouraging recycling as practice in people.

Undoubtedly, recycling should be a habit of today's society where risks of ecological disasters are high. Yet, people are still lagging behind when it comes to recycling. A recent news about recycling reported only 20% of waste collected from a council in south Australia. It seems people do not care about the issue. In contrast to this, some cities in Canada, have policies of mandatory recycling, where people are encouraged to discard waste in a recycling bin. This policy has been reported to be of grand success making the city greener and cleaner in 5 years. Citizens of that particular city claims to support the policy that has changed their dumping behavior, who also feel more responsible to the future generation. Nevertheless, people can also intimated by fear when laws are involved.

Certainly, fear should not be a reason for people to do anything in this civilized world. Rather government's responsibility should to be aware and educate people about healthy dumping behavior than terrorizing with authority, regardless of the cause. Government can launch local and nationwide campaigns about waste management behaviors. Public service announcements in radios and televisions can be one of the way of relaying the message about garbage management. Stakeholders at every level could be informed and made responsible to further provide support programs about recycling.

In summary, government should provoke it's people for good manners of dumping which are also the need of today's society. Nonetheless, people should not be abided by law to enforce such practice rather educated through awareness programs. Hence i totally disagree that government should use law for recycling.