( IELTS essay) Weekly allowance for children: Agree/disagree

Some people think giving a weekly allowance to children will help them to face less problems when they are adults. Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays children like to live independently. Parents are allowing pocket money for them weekly or monthly. Some people consider it as a good idea while others oppose. However, I feel, if we are giving money with supervision and proper supervision, then only it will be beneficial otherwise it will spoil the children's lives.

Children are not even mature enough to handle the money particularly, in their childhood. If they get money freely, they spend it lavishly. These tender minded young children can easy praying to bad habits like smoking, drug addiction, craze for latest fashions and so on and attract towards outer beauty. Since it is the sweats less money, they have no hesitation to spend it plentifully. Moreover, if the habit of lavish life style became habitual, they may resort any illegal means to get money to fulfill their needs. This in turn led to produce a number of criminals in the society.

Undoubtedly, financial manage is one of the key factors of success. If children can learn how to manage their small amount of money wisely, this will be asset to their personality. This experience boosts their money management efficiency in their future lives. Children may face emergency conditions, that time these pocket money will be a blessing for them. For instance, they can effectively manage the unexpected bus strikes with this money. Besides, the habits of saving can be cultivated by giving weekly allowances. Since they are purchasing their own small things with the money, they can learn how to use money effectively according to their needs. For instance, a child needs to buy a book and pen with this allowance, either he can adjust the cost of both thing and can take both, or can take one item and postponed other. Adjusting both may boost their skill of money management. Parent should be careful to observe what children are doing with this money.

To conclude, children should learn how to use money wisely. With proper direction and control, if giving weekly allowance to children, it will be favorable for them. Otherwise, it will spoil their lives.