Ielts : working children; Good or bad?

Topic: In many countries children are engaged in some kind of paid work. Some people regard this as completely wrong, while others consider it as a valuable work experience, important for learning and taking responsibility.

Depending on what age they are, it can be debated whether children should be encouraged to work or not. I believe that there must be restrictions on working children created by lawmakers depending on their age.

Admitting that working to have expereince is very important for children in the long term, it must be restricted by codes considering their age. In most countries in the world children, under the age of 11, are not allowed to do any kind of work. Between the ages of 11 and 15, they are allowed to do some kind of paid work which their mental and physical health will not be affected in the negative way. Eventually, between the ages of 15 and 18 they are allowed to do most kind of work.

Work experience and responsibility should be built on a well education in order to be successful in life. To me, parents should not allow their children to work before the age of 18. It would admittledly be difficult for children to focus on education, while they are being distracted by work. However, as an exception, they might be allowed to do work on particular fields which can assist them in their education life. As an example, children who want to specialize on a profession could be allowed to work somewhere can provide this experience to them before they attend to university as long as their education life in previous stages will not be affected in the negative way.

On the other hand, as a result of enonomic reasons, in several countries which are struggling with poverty children see it as an obligation to be engaged in some kind of paid work, no matter what age they are and what kind of work it is. This is a kind of responsibility which they should take instead of having a valuable experience to assit them in their education life. In these countries, there is a large number of children under the age of 15 doing hard work which might affect their mental and physical health.

In conclusion, as I consider the economics facts that put responsiblity on children to be engaged in some kind of paid work, I believe that this issue should be considered in the long term for their mental and physical health instead of the experience they will have and it should be restricted by the lawmakers.