IELTS T-2: Write Pros and Cons of crime prevention in society, give your opinion

There is an old saying 'Prevention is better than cure'. Does the same apply to crime prevention too? Criminality is on the rise everywhere in the world and whether its removal will benefit society in any way is a debatable issue since long ago. In the following paragraphs I will narrate pros and cons of the matter under discussion.

Those who oppose say good and evil are in human nature. For instance, the first murder in history of mankind was committed by a brother to another. Even if someone is law abiding, certain situations can drag him to offense. For example, I was reading an article yesterday describing how a young man killed her wife on adultery. Even that person had no criminal record, when he came to know about her wife's affair, he could not simply resist. Hence anger, revenge and suspicion are part and parcel of human nature that cannot be completely eradicated. Consequently, prevention of crime will make no difference.

On the other hand, it is argued that clearing society from evil makes it happier. For instance, people tend to move to crime free countries where rule of law prevails. This is evident from large number of people in developing countries trying to migrate to developed territories. Although, these prospective immigrants are well educated and settled in their homelands yet desire to live in peaceful environment motivates them to move to unknown world. Also, it is evident that citizens of developed countries live in harmony with others and contribute in the development of a healthy society. Therefore, removal of crime from society grants limitless benefits.

Considering above discussion I strongly suggest that crime free world will be more rewarding and benefiting for humanity. Hence, crime prevention will certainly make a difference in society. It is therefore recommended to implement strict punishments like capital punishment and heavy penalties for any misdeeds to create a sense of deterrence.