WRITTING TASK 2 : OPINION ON FREE COLLEGE

free access to University education

Some people believe that everyone has a right to have access to University education and that government should make it free-for-all students no matter what financial background they have.

There is a school of thought that everyone should be allowed to pursue college without fee irrespective of their financial status. This essay is going to prove why this is a fault belief.

First of all, It is understandable why people believe that waiving tuition fees is good when it seems to help more people have college degrees, especially the underpriviliged, and jobs but this is a flawed belief. It is true that when tuition is free, more people will be able to attend universities and get a degree. However, more influx of graduates would create a very competitive labor market . As a consequence, it would get harder and harder for graduates to land a job with a university qualification. This, then , would lead to higher unemployment rate and put a strain on the undergraduates and the graduates .

Secondly, abolishing tuition fees would , also, take a toll on society and the learners. If the government apply the free-of-charge college policy, they would have to face a excessive amount of education grant every year and this may put a big strain on the government budget. Eventually, there would be tax hikes and welfare would be reduced. For example, the disabled and the old don't receive their annual grant because of the budget deficit and become homeless.

In conclusion, many people think that free higher education is good for people but free education may do more harm than good.