IELTS: Young careless drivers_agree?

Young drivers are careless and overconfident, and too many are killed in accidents. To eliminate this problem, we could teach children the skills of safe driving while they are at school. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is indisputable that the number of road accidents is on the increase, many of which are encountered by young, careless and overconfident drivers. As a result, many people believe that teaching school children safe driving skills is imperative to eliminate the problem. However, I do not entirely agree with this statement.

First and foremost, it is crucial to acquaint children with safe-driving skills through lessons at school. Such lessons can familiarize them with basic traffic rules that they must not break, for example: you are to stop at red lights or follow road signs and the instructions of traffic wardens. Strictly following the regulations can prevent young drivers from getting involved in a collision to a certain extent. Besides, lessons on the skills of driving safely will make them aware of factors that have impacts on their driving such as bad weather conditions, road shortcomings or vehicle malfunctions. These are essential elements to be concerned if one wants to travel safely. For those two reasons, I am of the opinion that it is necessary to let school children know about safe driving skills.

Nevertheless, I am also convinced that mere skills are not enough to completely eliminate the problem. As a matter of fact, promoting self-awareness is another important point to be considered. Children must know about the severe consequences of road accidents that happened to other people and how badly they have affected the victims' families by watching videos or pictures of them for instance. This will make them mindful of how precious life is, and therefore they will become more cautious drivers so as to protect themselves as well as others. Thereby, I believe that boosting school children's awareness of accidents' effects is also important.

In conclusion, it is concerning that many young drivers are inattentive and overconfident, causing them thousands of deaths every year. Consequently, lessons on safe driving skills should be available at schools along with other measures considered. If people do not take this problem seriously and not try to tackle it, the extent on which the matter influence may increase immensely.

Currently there are 349 words in this essay and I'm afraid that it would be too much to finish in 40 minutes of a real test (in fact I wrote this in 50 min.). Any suggestions on how to shorten this (320 would be ideal)?