Often younger generations account for a larger share of the population than older generations

Topic:

At present time, the population of some countries includes a relatively large number of young adults, compared with the number of older people.

Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, younger generations account for a larger share of the population in a number of nations than older generations. From my point of view, the situation is more of an advantage than a disadvantage. In spite of being less experienced, young adults are more creative and place less stress on the financial system.

First and foremost, countries where younger people are in the majority are more likely to be the cradle of creativity and innovation, and thereby stand out from others. Compared with older generations, younger generations have a better imagination and creative power. They are more capable of coming up with groundbreaking ideas and applying them. Lack of experience is admittedly their weakness, and they are less familiar with time-honored customs and norms. However, in this era when disruptive innovations mushrooms, creativity outweighs experience.

In addition, a higher proportion of young adults can help ease the financial burden of a country, since they produce less pressure on the health care system than older people. Younger people have a stronger immune system. They are less prone to illnesses, especially the chronic ones such as diabetes which can incur heavy medical bills. Therefore, the medical system is put under less strain. The country can allocate less financial resources in this respect.

In conclusion, the positive side of a younger population is more significant than the negative side. Not merely does it provide a boost to creativity, but it also produces less pressure on health care services. Thus, the state can be more competitive as well as save money.