Younger or Older Leaders in Corporations? IELTS Writing Task 2

Prompt: Leaders and directors in an organization are normally older people. Some people think younger leaders would be better. Do you agree or disagree?

My essay:

It is often debated whether younger leaders are better candidates to steer companies successfully. From my perspective, I strongly support this statement based on some major reasons that are explained in this essay.

Opponents of promoting the young for managerial positions such as leaders and directors often claim that older individuals are far more suitable. They contend that these senior executives often have accumulated years of experience and also a stronger network of relationships, which are contributing factors to leading a successful firm. Nevertheless, this argument overlooks the fact that these old leaders might not be as adaptive to the development of technology as the younger generation is. Sometimes, their understanding about younger generation is also insufficient to manage them. That is to say, hardly are these old managers able to lead a company without struggles.

In contrast, I believe that the younger generation would be better candidates for these important roles in an organization. These individuals are often more creative and open to many new technologies compared to the old ones, which might help them to make better decisions and strategies for their companies. To illustrate, early-career managers might utilize Artificial Intelligence to help them make marketing or human resource plans. Not only does this way support them in attracting numerous potential customers, but it also gives them a hand in retaining young talents. As a result, their companies might cultivate fruitful results and become more developed.

In conclusion, while many people think that old executives might be perfect options to help companies gain great success, I am convinced that younger candidates would be better to steer firms to success, as they are often more knowledgeable about technology and open-minded to new things.