Younger school children should be required to study art and music in addition to math

Younger school children should be required to study art and music in addition to math, language, science and history.

"Histories make men wise; poets witty; the math subtle; natural philosophy deep; logic and rhetoric able to contend." Admittedly, just as Bacon said, math, history, science and history are critical to school children. However, we should not lose the sight of the positive influence on school children, namely, coloring their school life, broadening their horizon, and helping them find their true interest, etc. Hence, I hold the view that young school children should be required to study art and music.

Initially, courses about art and music can bright children's life. Could you imagine that: a child who is perfectly content with a wonderful song, capacity of creativity, passion and happiness, now is suddenly forced to sit still, shut up and listen while a grown-up scrawls about science on a blackboard and delivers monotonous math formula. Courses such as history, science are arranged one by one, which may leads children to grow tired of those courses, even the school life. However, they can definitely relax themselves when they listen to a piece of music or sing a song. Art brings kinds of color, perfect structure, and various shapes to children. Viewing beautiful pictures, they have a chance to relief their stress. When they study art or music, they don't need to recall the involved history affairs into their mind, solve the complicated math problem, or try to understand a knotty passage. So it is clear that studying art and music can surely color children's life.

Additionally, studying art and music will expand children's horizon. Those courses teach children the rudiments of art and music, promotes children's capacity to tell whether a picture good, and whether a band sounds out of tune. Besides, close link exists among courses. Extensive knowledge exerts positive effect on comprehension. For example, children can get a large quantity of information by analyzing a picture or a statue. Besides, compositions by musicians and folks show different characteristics, which may be helpful to understand the history. To be a person with profound knowledge, s/he must broad his or her vision, which comes from long years study extensively. Even though a child wants to be an expert on a field, his/her knowledge shouldn't be narrowed down to just one sphere.

Moreover, a child's true interest and merit can be found by studying music and art. Everyone has his/her strength and weakness. If courses are restrained to history, science and math, some children lose a chance to develop what they are skilled in and interested in. There is no denying that some children are good at math, language, but what if some are potential artists and musicians?

In conclusion, studying art and music is beneficial for children to have a colorful life, a broad horizon and an opportunity to find their true love. Thus, there is good sense in placing art and music into school children's syllabus.