The ability of children to comprehension of a foreign language is much better at the primary school

Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

It is believed that to start the ability of children in comprehension of a foreign language better during at the primary school rather than at secondary school. This essay will discuss the advantages of the case where the children would be better take the foreign language subject since in the early education stage, and then will discuss why the advantages outweigh the drawbacks.

Today, additional subject in the academic curriculum such as a foreign language competency had been urgent for children as the student in their schools. So, it should be preparation since in the early of academic stages. The several reasons as the background of this decision included the self-ready condition of the child and the optimum of brain capability in earlier aged. For instance, according to the research of Children Developmental Psychology in 2013 had revealed that the range aged from 3 to 11 years old is the best moment for increasing the language comprehension skill of the child because in this stage, the child brain still easier to code anything of language pattern into long term memory which is located in right side of the brain. This study resulted that more than 22 % of the children who studying a foreign language in primary school have been more potential became the expert of the language in 18 years old rather than another child who don't study since in the basic schools.

However. Several facts may be there in the real life where occasionally the child are not ready enough for learning a strange language in their early age. Several children may be difficult for following the language which not their mother language. Moreover, several schools sometimes not too strict with their curriculum of foreign language competency. Thus, some students become aware of their purpose to study a foreign language when they had already sat on the higher degree. In fact, this condition had been more difficult for them to be more adaptable and memorable the new vocabulary of the foreign tongue.