It is Better for Children Learning Foreign Language at Primary School?

Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Some linguists think that children should start practicing a foreign language at primary school instead of secondary school. Since they will gather many advantages such as at that age, new knowledge is more easily to gain and they have much time to master it further. However, sometimes they will face hesitation because of language mixed. So, this essay will discuss benefits outweighed drawback.

Some people encouraged children to learn foreign language at primary school, because it is a golden age, which children can be more facile catch the new words and sounds then imitate it precisely. Besides, they can prepare themselves to practice more in language stages such as grammar in the next step of their life. Oxford University have conducted study to compare language mastering of international primary school students and general high school students and resulted that their managing language of primary students were almost the same as high school students in vocabulary mastering. It proved that children gain as much as vocabulary with the older people who did not intend to learn language. So, if they continue to learn they will master the language.

Nevertheless, learning non-mother language sometimes trigger non-fluency of children in talk using mother language. Take my cousin as an example. He is studying in international school where he had to speak English. He is very fluency in English, but when I talked to him with Indonesian language, he will speak doubting as he has just learned bahasa, even his mother language is Indonesian language.

All in all, the language expertise may be true that children have to learn foreign language at primary school since they will be easy to gather or remember words and applying it. Then, it is saving time to learn more at secondary school in next steps even though they may experience some hesitation in mixed language. This essay has already revealed the excellence outweighed weakness. 313w