Writing Task 2 - Able to make film for everyone. Positive or Negative?

Q:

Films were produced by big companies in the past, but today people are able to make a film

Do you think this trend is positive or negative?

A:

In recent decades, there has been a growing trend in the number of films made by ordinary people. Although films produced by giant companies usually get a large investment and high quality, the ability to make a film for amateurs could carry a positive impact on the film industry.

There are many great opportunities for a non-professional filmmaker. Firstly, when recording footage does not require a high budget, anyone could easily produce a film that is to convey their idea to audiences. For example, with the expansion and popularity of online video broadcasting platform, there is a myriad of daily uploaded video in which the creators perform their creativity in various ways, such as vlog and experiment. Secondly, if the creator's production becomes well-known globally and reaches the attention of big film companies, which could enhance their career or even turn their life into a new chapter. For example, a film named Paranormal Activity was made by an amateur within an extremely low budget and this film became a box office phenomenon which then attracted large investments from many big companies to make its spin-off series.

In addition, this trend could be generally good for the audience. Since there are films from various concepts, audiences like us could have many options to choose ones that suit our taste. For instance, even if an audience's taste is comedy, horror, or action film, YouTube always provides or recommends videos containing relevant content for its audience. By easily delivering the idea of the creator's trouble solution into a film, some audiences may find an escape when they are in the same trouble. In an online interview with a 23-year-old depression patient, she felt relieved after she watched a video that her mother gave, and finally that video brings joy back to her life.

In conclusion, allowing a normal person to make a film will bring a positive influence on film industry in many aspects.