IELTS academic writing task 2 Some people say that children should go to school as young as possible

IELTS academic writing task 2

Some people say that children should go to school as young as possible, while others believe that children should go to school of at least 7 years old. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

early education for kids

Studying is always said to be the most important thing in our childhood. Some people believe that children should be sent to school at an early age, while others believe the age of seven is the suitable age for children to start school. There are advantages of both ways but I agree that children should commence their studies as early as possible.

The primary advantage of children staying at home until 7 years old is they can spend more time with parents. Instead of sending their children to other educators, parents can spend quality time to teach and nurture their children at home. This not only strengthens the bonding between parents and children, but also gives children the most suitable education as parents are the ones understand their children's needs the most. A recent article from the University of Melbourne indicates that children prefer their parents to school teachers to teach them. In short, parents taking the role of an educator allows more parent and child time before children reach 7 years old.

On the other hand, children attending school at a young age promotes faster learning and development. Parents can educate their children but they are not professionally trained. Unlike school teachers, parents may not be able to incorporate pedagogy and strategy according to a child's learning milestone to facilitate learning. For instance, an early childhood educator would create a play space that stimulates an infant's sensory experience while parents do not have that knowledge to produce that experience. According to a recent research by University of Hong Kong, if toddlers are involved in a rich learning environment at school, the development of motor and language skills will be faster.

Nowadays, both parents have to work in most of the families. Therefore, not many of them have time to look after their children at home. In addition, even though parents are willing to spend time to teach children, the ways and methods of teaching may not be as well developed as trained teachers. Therefore, I believe sending children to school at the age of two is the most practical and beneficial decision. Parents can work to maintain a family's living while children can receive education provided by professionally recognized teachers at school.