IELTS WRITING TASK 2: NOT HAVING CHILDREN AT A YOUNG AGE

More people decided to have children in their later age than in the past. Why?

Do advantages of this outweigh disadvantages?

Over the last few decades, an increasingly popular social trend among millennials is having children at an older age than their prior generations. This essay will present some underlying reasons of this modern choice.

To begin with, later age is widely perceived as perfect timing for upbringing a kid in terms of stable financial status. When young people have not settled down their career and life-long plans, they are not able to cope with a relatively burdening economic requirement of upbringing another individual. Consequently, the kids whose parents failed to provide adequate needs are in the sphere of lack of education, illnesses and social maladies. Moreover, the close relationships between family member are at risk due to the significant lack of time spent together since parents are involved in the nowadays incessant race to better salaries.

In addition, parenting demands several integral skills whereas younger individuals are not fully up to scratch. Taking care of a child entails patience, sensibility and numerous other dignities. If one cannot adopt these characteristics, bringing up the kid will turn out to be extremely tiring and stressful. More seriously, these uncomfortable feelings can transform into aggressive reactions or even domestic violence cases which stem from the hatred of incapability.

Opponents of this viewpoint may claim the negative effects of old-age pregnancy on the mother. However, this proposition is not completely convincing as modern convenience has offered much safer and affordable services which allow people to define their own perfect timing for parenthood.

In conclusion, this trend is proven to have positive impact on the modern social world. Despite a few indiscernible flaws, it will assure a brighter and more civilised future for our next generations.