Ielts writing task 2: The advances in agriculture and the increase in world hunger

Question:

In spite of the advances made in agriculture, many people around the world still go hungry.

Why is this the case? What can be done about this problem?

It is undeniable that nowadays, farming practices are facilitated by the development of many modern innovations despite the fact that there is a soaring figure of people undergoing famine. This essay will elaborate on the leading cause of this problem and practical solutions to overcome this hardship.

There are two main factors attributed to the increase in hunger all over the world. Firstly, in many countries, especially underdeveloped ones, farmers are financially incapable of purchasing sophisticated machines. They continue following old-fashioned methods and failing to apply technologies in their crops, in turns, their outcomes cannot meet the demand of the increasing population. Secondly, the frequent occurrence of natural disasters is another reason for the hunger issue. Many East-South Asian and African nations, in which have to deal with floods and droughts annually, have fewer opportunities to develop agricultural activities than others. While these catastrophes have gigantic damage to crops, farmers have no solutions to protect their crops but accept the truth and prepare for the next one. As a result, many of these nations' citizens do not have enough food to maintain their lives.

However, world hunger can be reduced by some effective solutions. The governments can support the farmers by lending them an amount of money in order to buy some automatic and labor-saving machines and also some high-quality plant seeds. This measure helps farmers save time and enhance crop yield. Furthermore, thriving nations can provide underdeveloped countries with sufficient aid such as fundings and agricultural machinery. This not only creates better opportunities for farmer increase the production of food but also strengthen the relationship among regions and countries.

In conclusion, the lack of modern technologies applied in farming and the devastation of natural disasters can be ascribed to the increasing global hunger. The national governments and international organizations can take steps to alleviate this problem.