About advantages and disadvantages of working and studying from home

Around the world, many adults are working from home, and more children are beginning to study from home because technology has become cheaper and more accessible.

Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

As people gain more access to technology, working and learning from home has become the method chosen by many grownups and children. From my perspective, although many people can be beneficial from this development, its negative impacts still outweigh and cannot be ignored.

On the one hand, it is understandable that people choose remote working and studying due to its merits. The first and also the main advantage is that working and learning from home is more convenient. As both adults and children can easily arrange their tasks based on their timetable and job priority, people no longer need to depend on a fixed schedule. Secondly, the development in technology makes it possible for everyone who is qualified enough to work and learn overseas through a computer. People have more chances to approach a wider range of knowledge and job positions.

On the other hand, working and studying from home also brings many significant disadvantages. Firstly, it badly affects life quality as people may lose real-life interactions when they spend too much time using technological equipment. Recent studies have shown that an individual's happiness is positively influenced by the quality and quantity of relationships with people around that person. Secondly, health problems related to the excessive amount of time used to look at screens may be caused by remote working and learning. For example, children can become short-sighted and adults may face heart diseases and obesity as the result of lacking physical exercise from spending too much time sitting in front of screens. Thirdly, it can be easily interrupted as the internet connection may not be stable enough to ensure working and learning from home. Moreover, there is a thread from personal information leaks as high-technology criminals are eager to exploit holes in information security and financially take advantage of these holes.

In conclusion, it is beneficial for people to work and learn from home. However, humanity must take its weaknesses into consideration.