Working from home: Effects? Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Performing tasks remotely

It has been a prevalent trend for modern employees to perform tasks from a distance thanks to the advancement of computer networks. This has led to both inconveniences and opportunities. Ultimately, it appears to me that such work pattern is still worthwhile, in a sense that it allows workers to overcome several disadvantages of conventional labor.

On one hand, working at home has its own pitfalls, namely distraction and isolation. Interruption from neighbors, friends, family might be very disruptive, thus reducing work productivity, combined with the temptation to procrastinate and let the work pile up. Meanwhile, most people find it hard to finish tasks because of not being able to bounce ideas off colleagues or because of breakdowns in communication through emails and phone calls.

On the other hand, it's no doubt that one can greatly benefit from starting a business in the house. Firstly, by personalizing their work situations, such as setting up a flexible schedule as an alternative to the traditional 9 to 5, employees can keep a work-life balance. Home-based employees are often capable of working continuously when sick, returning to work quickly following surgery or pregnancy, and handling personal appointments without losing a full day of work. Secondly, remote work means cutting numerous costs including costs of commuting as well as indirect costs like professional wardrobes and on-the-go meals. Lastly, this novel way of work has enabled top talents to be hired despite geographic limits. Therefore, I reckon that the advantages can far outweigh the hassles. The main explanation is that some problems listed have the potential to be tackled with dedication, focus, and high self-discipline from employees themselves.

Overall, the idea of having a home-based office is very challenging yet appealing at the same time. It is recommended for those who wish to be their own boss and strive to develop such modern attitude towards work. This work pattern should be encouraged in this era of modern telecommunication technologies.