Do the advantages of increased tourism outweigh its disadvantages?

Travelling abroad is becoming more affordable than ever before, and numerous countries are increasingly welcoming tourists. Although it facilitates a deeper cultural understanding, it causes an increase in the cost of local living, which outweighs the merit.

On the one hand, there are a wide range of benefits of increasing tourism, one of which is that people can have a deeper understanding of many cultures. To be more specific, the increase in tourism opens a great opportunity for people to explore different cultures, as each country has its own unique culture, so individuals travelling to different countries can have a chance to broaden their knowledge about different cultures in the world. For example, a study conducted by FTU University in 2020 revealed that over 50 percent of people travelling to different countries have more knowledge about some nation's cultures compared to non-traveller. However, the excess of travelling may lead to many serious threats to the environment.

On the other hand, there was a variety of tourism growth. One of which is that the costs of living for local people increase. In other words, overseas travel attracts more and more people to travel due to its affordability, resulting in the local where open for tourists having to increase the living expenditure to serve tourist activities. For example, a survey conducted by FTU in 2021 revealed that in the period of 10 years since 1990, the amount of money that people in Quang Binh have to pay for living increased by 10 percent because of the development of tourism. This means that it exerts pressure on people who can not afford to pay for high living expenses, which eclipses the merit.

In conclusion, although tourism helps people expand their culture's understanding, it has a negative impact on local living costs, which outweighs the advantages.