Are advertisement directed children?? (IELTS task 2)

There are many advertisement directed children.

Parents argue that children are misled, while advertiser consider advertising a sourse of useful information. What is your opinion?

Nowadays, on TV, in the newspaper, or even on the Internet, a number of adverts are springing up all over around. It is argued that advertising is brainwashing children. However, some people are in favor of advertising as a great source of information.

To commence with, due to competitive markets, enterprises have to go all the way to make creative content to sell their products by attracting customers. Children and juveniles easily gravitate to eye-catching commercials, although they may bring nonsense meanings or even a scenario of brainwashing, some of which may lead to health harm. For instance, a large number of businesses are in an attempt to sell their attractive colorful foods to children, regardless of their ingredients, which may cause food poisoning to kids. In addition, to give an exaggerated account of goods, many videos are created with dangerous actions, which can easily make kids imitate. As a consequence, they will suffer from injuries or do damage to their health.

However, not all adverts bring wrong and bad information, but useful ones instead. They raise people's knowledge and awareness. By teaching viewers the way to choose products and distinguish them from fake ones, consumers are more able to make better shopping choices and take advantage of its benefits. In terms of technology, advertising helps people discover more about technological devices. For instance, my sister, who usually watches adverts on Youtube, knows how to use and fix digital gadgets in some cases.

In conclusion, although there is no doubt that some advertising is harmful to young generation, I personally believe in its benefits by providing helpful information.