Ielts - Advertisements have become part of our life and it is impossible to ban them

Please check for grammar, coherence and vocab. I am preparing for Ielts. Also, please rate it out of 10.

Question : Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with?

These days advertising has become a huge business. Various forms of advertising is common in almost all kinds of business. There are different kinds of opinion on advertisements today. Some of them argue that they help everyone know about latest product launches. While others disagree with this and their opinion is that advertisements influence people to buy products which they do not require. Personally, I think both these arguments have valid points. I will discuss both these opinions in detail within this essay.

There are various advantages of advertisements. The television, news papers, pamphlets, announcements, billboards etc is a common media for advertisements which help us know about latest products. Advertisements are important both for consumers as well as producers. They help producers launch new products without which there would be no competition in business and it might lead to one man rule. It also reduces the prices because multiple brands compete on the same product. Consumers can chose from many available products. They help us know about new offers.

On the other hand, advertisements might also influence people to buy products which they do not require. In my personal experience, there were situations when I bought some items because I like the brand ambassador of that product. Internet is also one source where people end up buying for no reason. Buy one get one offers mostly mislead consumers to clear off old stock. Fair and lovely, one of the famous face cream brands in India has earned lot of profit by promoting that skin becomes fair. These kind of advertisements misguide the society in wrong way. Government should control these kind of advertisements so that people do not fall prey.

In conclusion, my opinion is that advertisements have both advantages and disadvantages. Advertisements have become part of our life and it is impossible to ban them. Consumers should be alert when buying products and utilize advertisements in a productive way. The government can also curb advertisements which influence society in a negative way.