Advertising confuses consumers between what they need and what they want

Question:

Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold.

To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Give reason for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The choice what to buy - is it really our decision?

Advertising plays a key role in commercial and remarks a vital decision in consumers' purchasing. It is thought that the high sales result from the advertising power instead of the society's needs in reality. As far as I concern, consumers usually buy more than they need due to advertising effects.

Advertising or commercial ads applies tricky techniques to appeal consumers' purchasing intention. By amplifying the goods' functions and taking advantages from celebrities, majority of shoppers have been lured and believed in advertising without considering their real needs or recheck their own similar products. For specific instance, a girl decides to buy skin care products because of believing in her idol, she is predicted to cost a big amount of money, exceeding her actual demand.

Furthermore, it is not uncommon that advertising only displays the products' good sides, hiding the side-effects. Owning to limited showing time around 1-2 minutes,, it is impossible to clearly present all needed information in advertising. Shoppers, hence, fail to obtain full and necessary product knowledge. Besides, advertising main purpose is to sell goods which is misunderstood by many people who think advertising is helpful in providing information or shopping easily. If all advertising ensures the product quality, which one should buyer choose?

All in all, advertising confuses consumers between what they need and what they want. Using skillful methods such as exaggeration, celebrities' influence, and missing complete source of information, buyers who rely too much on advertising, are unable to choose their suitable products. Rather than trusting commercial ads, shoppers is advised to consider more on previous users' reviews.