IELTS;The power of advertising or consumers` demand.

TASK: Some people think the high sales of products reflect the power of advertising instead of the consumers` demand.

To what extent do you agree?

Overall, I tend to agree that advertising do help a lot in boosting the sales of goods. But what is more important, it is the requirement of customers that play a dominant role in making products achieve a high sale.

Admittedly, excellent advertisements have a positive influence in increasing the sales volume. This is largely because advertising is a quite effective way to illustrate the characterstics snd quality of goods throgh vivid pictures and videos. Meanwhile, these visual effecets always leave a good impression in audience and make them have derises to purchase such products. Also,commercials are usually designed to appeal to target auidence who will buy the commodities with pleasure, which can make products have steady buyyers .Besides, to some degree, publicising superb quality and reliable after

-sale service can help the manufacturer improve the corporate image, which will further facilitate the sales.

However, despite of these advantages of advertising in improving products sales, the impact of consumers` requiments is a more significant element that cannot be neglected.

First of all, for the majority of consumers, what make them decide to buy a commodity is it has the capacity to meet their demand, not just being attracted by the advertisements. In addation to this, shoppers have to consider their own purchasing power when they are buying goods. So consumers have to buy goods they are able to afford because the restriction of buying power. At a deeper level, merely shopping without regarding the requirements of buyyers themeselves and the usefulness of goods will cause unnessary wate in materials. And It is really possible for scuh wasteful purchasing behaviors meet opposition by non-profit organisations in the society. These objections may possibly result in the decrease of sales volume, which can also explian why the demand of customers is so closerly related to good sales.

In conclusion, compared with advertisements` effects, the power of consumers` demand play a more important part in gaining high product sales.