advertising issues; regulate a law prohibiting unacceptable advertising

Hi! im preparing for my IELTS. please help me with this. thankz!

Some of the methods used in advertising are unethical and unacceptable in today's society.To what extent do you agree with this view?

In recent times, there has been a boom in the advertising industry because this is one of the best ways to let the consumers know the product well. However, some of the ways used in advertisement are considered inappropriate and indecent.

Admittedly, advertisements are helpful both to the producers and consumers. To the producers, they help increase the sales by letting people know about the product they sell. To consumers, it offers many options to choose from according to your various needs. Furthermore, it can be a powerful tool in educating the people and improving their heath. For instance, advertisement makes people aware of medical conditions associated with too much salt intake, such as high blood pressure, edema and renal failure.

Despite the argument above, I believe some methods used in advertising are unethical. Advertisement encourages people to buy products they may not need or beyond their ability to afford and this is evident in children and young adult in particular. In addition, it causes people to be materialistic. They are dragged to the fact that one must have the latest gadget, new clothes and toys, thus, this put enormous pressure on the parents. What's more, there are some scenes on advertisement that are too mature for children, such as advertisements with regard to reproductive health and use of contraceptives, these kind of advertisements must not be seen on large screens.

To conclude, it is true that advertising helps the economy of the country. Nevertheless, government should regulate a law prohibiting unacceptable advertising that may have a negative impact on children.