IELTS task 2 - THE AGE AT WHICH PEOPLE RETIRE FROM WORK SHOULD BE RAISED CONSIDERABLY. TRUE OR NOT?

ESSAY TOPICS: SOME SAY THAT BECAUSE MANY PEOPLE ARE LIVING MUCH LONGER, THE AGE AT WHICH PEOPLE RETIRE FROM WORK SHOULD BE RAISED CONSIDERABLY. TO WHAT EXTENT DO YOU AGREE OR DISAGREE?

raising the retirement AGE?

It is often said that we should have a go up for the age of retirement because human life-span is becoming higher and higher. In my opinion, I totally disagree with this idea.

To begin with, there is a litmitaion in human working ability. People often work when they are about 25 years old. At that time, their health is vey wonderful, so they can dedicate their best for the companies. However, at the time they are at the age of 35, their health begin to go down. As a result, their working ability will be affected. As far as I know, nowadays, the age for someone to retire from work is 60. I don't think that 60-years-old guys who suffer from lots of health decreasing can devote for the companies as well as they did in the past.

Lastly, I suppose that the old deserve a non-working time with their family after a long-term dedication.They not only spent their time but also their mind to make great benifits for the business when they were young. As a consequence, they have to be rewarded a happy time with their descendences in the rest of their life. In addition, the old enjoy spending their time for their families instead of working. Therefore, giiving them a retirement is the most suitable option that the employers can do for their old-age employees.

In conclusion, I assume that rasing the age for retirement is not a good option. Instead, companies can hire the young and encourage the old to retire when they are 60. It's not only brings more valuable benefits for the businesses but also it's also the best reward for people whospent their youth to be devoted employees.