IELTS TASK 2 - AGREE OR DISAGREE? - Work from home only benefits employees, not employers.

Please give any comments if necessary on my writing, I would really appreciate. Thanks in advance!

Benefits of Telecommuting For Employers and Employees

TOPIC: Many employees may work at home with modern technology. Some people claim that it benefits only workers, but not employers. Do you agree or disagree?

Over the last few decades, a wide range of modern technology has been invented and used in many aspects of our lives, and is especially conducive to work. The fact that staffs can work from home with advanced devices, however, only does good to the staffs themselves, but not managers, according to some people's beliefs. From a personal perspective, I completely oppose to this idea and in this essay, I will clarify my viewpoint by giving these reasons.

To begin with, it can be clearly seen that working at home can help both employees and employers saving a large amount of money. Normally, these money must be spent on travel expenses, gasoline and offices' rent, which are mostly be paid by the managers. Therefore, allowing staffs to work at home by using modern technology like laptops and smartphones is a good way to run a company without having to pay too much money on unnecessary things. Moreover, telecommuting can also increase productivity of employees because working from home enables them to have the most convenient and comfortable environment to accomplish their tasks. For instance, if employees have to spend time to travel to work, there is every likelihood that there are going to be unintended incidents occurring on their way to the office. As a result, not only the employers must pay for hospital fees, but the work efficiency of employees is also reduced.

Critics may say that working from home unables managers to track their staffs' work and productivity. However, this can be done easily with the advent of up-to-date technology and notification of deadlines. Take TimeDoctor for example, an online app which allows small businesses to track working time of employees.

To sum up, it is evident that modern technology has granted people a mixed variety of advantages, especially in business. Telecommuting is now available in many companies, and perhaps a favourable way to benefit both employees and employers.