Some people think that employers should not strict on their employees dress code. Agree or disagree?

Rules at work - dress code

In the workplace, dress codes are less important than before and employers focus more on the performance of their work. While I agree that the way that people's outfit should not consider as measurement of result at workplace, I believe that dress codes still play an important role in some jobs.

Firstly, many employers have stopped claim their staffs to wear properly at work and I see this is a positive trend. Some of the most successful companies in the world such as Google and Facebook are famous for its relaxing work environments that respect every individuals' outfit and agree to wear casually at work. And even the people at a higher position in the company wear the casual T-shirt and jeans. However, this cultural broke the traditional and they are expected to perform at a high quality of work. It is obvious to see the strict code aren't necessary nowadays.

However, I also argue that the rules of dress code at work are still relevant in some industries. We expected certain professionals such as nurses, salesperson, and doctor to wear uniforms. These uniform have representative a image that creates a safe feeling for their clients. Furthermore, outfit is also presented as someone's authority or the class in the society such as lawyer, government principle, even CEO of the company may choose to wear formal clothing in order to show their authority at work. We all like to see these people wearing in a formal outfit even if we aren't in strict matters.

In conclusion, I support the point that employee have freedom to choose whatever they want at work, but I do not agree this idea apply to all sectors of the industries.