Allocation of public funds between road and railway projects

transport infrastructure

Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you (dis)agree?

There are people who voice that governments should invest more money in railways instead of roads. In my opinion, I totally agree with this idea as railway traffic has the edge over travelling by roads.

First of all, using rail roads could prevent traffic jams. Because trains can only go on the railway, all the trips have to be tightly scheduled to prevent trains from smashing into each other or rendering themselves stuck at any place. Unlike trains, cars and motorbikes can travel on the roads without much precise selection which often leads to traffic jams in rush hours. By travelling by trains, people can save time by preventing congestion. As a result, passengers can arrive at their destinations sooner than going by cars or motorbikes, especially in the case of long - distanced travel.

Another advantage of using railroad is the quantity and quality of goods carried by trains. With cars or even trucks, it still poses a difficulty to carry a large number of goods without damaging them to some extent. However, trains can do a great job at transferring products. As trains have plenty of wide carriages, they are able to carry a massive number of commodities as well as keep them intact during the journey. Therefore, there is no doubt that transferring goods using railway transportation is much more effective than using roads.

In conclusion, travelling by train has offered people various benefits. On that account, governments should definitely spend money on the upgrade and extension of railways rather than that of roads