Allowing youngsters to have their own decisions in daily life matters - ielts academic

Allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters

Please help me with my essay from writing task 2

Thank you so much

Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters (such as food, clothes, and entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other people believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matters that affect them.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Answer:

There is an argument that youngsters should have their own decisions in daily life matters (such as food, clothes, and entertainment), which make them selfish, while others think that is essential for one's growth. In my point of view, children should have their own decisions with guidance from the elder people.

On one hand, making their own choices will encourage them to be more responsible. This makes them understand the consequence of their own decisions, which makes children dignify their wishes more important than others. That may make them think they are the best. For example, when they are working in a group, children often think their view is the best solution for any situation without consideration. But that could be changed, especially when they have trouble and get some advice from the others for a routine.

On the other side, decisions play a crucial role in children's lives, which help adolescents stand up from their failures and give them the knowledge to deal with their issues in some situations. There is a small percentage of youngsters who won't have any trouble in their life. For example, a child who has a better condition than others can have a better position or even finance in daily life. But other adolescents who don't have that chance push them to deal with their problems through their own experiences which they have learned from their failures many times. Take finance as an example, this makes youngsters have to consider or plan to use their own money logically.

In conclusion, although there are some disadvantages, I believe that the advantages bring better benefits than its drawback. This may help adolescents adapt to any problems in the future.