Ielts writing task 2- animal experimentation

Topic: Some people strongly oppose animal experimentation, believing that it causes pain to animals, while some other people consider it necessary. What is your opinion?

In recent years, animal welfare has never ceased to draw attention and provoke debates. Albeit popular, the issue as to whether legislators impose restrictions remains controversial. I am supportive animal based experiments are crucial, beneficial to the well-being of human society and creatures.

Firstly, it is so important to recognize that human and animals have so many similarities that animals could be the satisfying substitutions to people in experiments. Needless to say, many species and person share close resemblances in behavior or cell structure. A telling example is mice. Mouse and people response to external disturbances by identical manners, because of uniformities in immune system. Thus, this example indicates that animal testing should be maintained to minimize potential risks on customers when developing new drugs, new methods for medical treatment.

On the other hand, another benefit, which is obtained from animal-based experiment, is that they significantly contribute to conservation. Environmentalists may argue that testing on creatures usually kill animals for unreasonable purposes. This argument could be true to some extent. However, they should take into account the fact that many rare creatures, which have been threatened on the verge of extinction require further research for comprehensive knowledge. For example, sea turtles which are in serious under population need investigation to acquire insights into nutrition, diet, habitats, mating condition to recover their population.

In conclusion, under no circumstances should governments prohibit animal testing. It is not only useful discovering new medical products but also contributing to animal conservation as mentioned above.