IELTS Writing task 2: Animal testing is morally wrong or not?

Hi everyone, this is my practice essay to prepare for the IELTS test. I hope to receive comments from you. Thank you!

Nowadays animal experiments are widely used to develop new medicines and to test the safety of other products. Some people argue that these experiments should be banned because it is morally wrong to cause animals to suffer, while others are in favour of them because of their benefits to humanity.

DISCUSS BOTH VIEWS AND GIVE YOUR OWN OPINION.

It is true that testing on animal is a crucial phase in developing a new drug. While some people believe that animal experimentation is inhumane and should be forbidden, I would argue that it is better to test medicines and other products before releasing them to the market for the development in pharmaceutical field.

On the one hand, there are some concerns about the ethical issues of experiments on animals. For instance, scientists usually make the laboratory subject sick by giving them a pathogen or a toxic chemical compound. Therefore, they might have been through a lot of pain or even be killed for the experiments. In addition, many animal rights activists believe that scientists have no right to make those living things suffer because their lives are just as precious as human lives and these research are sometimes not necessary in the case of cosmetic products. Therefore, pharmaceutical firms should find other alternatives to test their products.

On the other hand, many people believe that experiments on animals must be routinely done as a part of the drug development because such research could guarantee not only the effectiveness but also the safety of medicines. Some animals such as mouse or monkey share almost the same DNA as human, which makes them the suitable subjects for testing human targeted drugs. If a new compound shows good therapeutic effects on animals, we could hope for the same effects on human. Furthermore, preclinical trials on animals help scientists understand the toxicity of a drug before testing it on human. Therefore, these research could ensure the safety in latter clinical trial phases.

In conclusion, although research conducted on animals might have some ethical concerns, it seems to me that animal experimentation is necessary to provide primary evidences of a new drug's effectiveness and safety.